Broken Hill Mosque Museum
The Broken Hill Mosque is one of the most intriguing heritage sites in Broken Hill. Built in 1887, it’s now the only surviving outback mosque built by cameleers in Australia.
The Afghan Cameleers played a critical role in the history of the Australian Outback and the Mosque tells their story.
Rescued by the Broken Hill Historical Society in 1967, it was re-dedicated as a place of worship by visiting clerics and opened as a museum in 1968. Access is by appointment or during special open days, (currently Friday's between 11am and 1pm).
The opportunity to talk with curator and caretaker, Bobby Shamroze on a tour of the Mosque is a very special experience as Bobby’s personal history is closely associated with the cameleers and the Mosque. Bobby’s father was Shamroze Khan and his grandfather was Fazulla Ziadulla. They were both camel drivers in the Broken Hill area and his father was also a camel dealer in the Port Augusta area and delivered camels to Broken Hill. Both Bobby’s father and grandfather prayed at the Mosque.
Bobby’s personal stories combined with the range of surviving memorabilia and the intact Prayer Room combines to give a rare insight into one of the most important and often overlooked aspects of the early outback life.
A wide range of significant objects are on display at the museum including an old wagon.
Once used for firewood, the Afghan Wagons were as important as the beasts and drivers themselves in getting supplies in and out of the harsh Australian Outback. This wagon would be drawn by as many as 16 camels.