Tom Kennedy elected Mayor

Published on 23 December 2021


Tom Kennedy and his ticket have swept to power in the 2021 Local Government Elections.


Kennedy was announced as Mayor on Tuesday, and five members of his ticket - Bob Algate, Jim Hickey, Michael Boland, Hayley Jewitt, and Alan Chandler - were announced as Councillors today.


They will be joined as Councillors by former Mayor Darriea Turley AM, Marion Browne, Dave Gallagher and Ron Page.


Council's General Manager, Jay Nankivell, congratulated Mayor Kennedy on the convincing victory.


"Mayor Kennedy has vast experience as a Councillor and his passion for Broken Hill is unquestionable."


"The administration looks forward to working with Mayor Kennedy and all new and returning Councillors to achieve their vision for Broken Hill."


Mr Nankivell also paid tribute to former Mayor Darriea Turley, and former Councillors Christine Adams, Branko Licul, Maureen Clark and Jim Nolan.


"The outgoing Councillors and all Councillors who served last term put in an amazing effort given the difficulties the city faced during COVID-19."


"They can be proud of their leadership given the unprecedented challenges they, and the wider community, have endured over the last five years."


Mayor Kennedy has already taken office, whilst the remaining nine Councillors will be sworn in at a Council meeting on January 12, 2022.