Program tile.jpgSansone sculpture with blue sky background

The program featured will be regularly updated.

Monday 19 April 2021

6pm - 8 pm   Welcome Reception  

Sulphide Street Railway and Historical Museum
230 Blende Street

Sulphide Street Railway and Historical Museum immortalises the history of the Silverton Tramway Company (STC). The Museum houses the Silver City Comet, Migrant Museum, Hospital Museum, Transport Pavilion, Johns Bros Joyland and Triple Chance Mineral Collection.

Registration available at the Welcome Reception for Lanyard collection only.  Conference satchels will be available for pick-up at the Conference Concierge Desk the following day.

Tuesday 20 April 2021

7am - 8.30am   Breakfast  

Living Desert and Sculpture Symposium
Bus transfer departs Broken Hill Civic Centre at 7:00am.

The Living Desert Reserve is nestled amongst the Barrier Ranges and is located 9km from the City of Broken Hill.

On top of the highest reserve are the 12 sandstone sculptures, created in 1993 by a group of artists from all over the world, which are now one of Outback NSW's many attractions and a visual representation of Broken Hill's marriage of art and nature.

8am   Registration  

Broken Hill Civic Centre
Registration desk will be open from 8am.

8.45am   Welcome & Housekeeping   Cr Dave Gallagher, APM
Acting President
Western Division Councils of NSW
9am   Official Opening
    Welcome to Country  

Aunty Maureen O'Donnell
Wilyakali Elder

  Welcome to Broken Hill  

Mayor Darriea Turley, AM
Broken Hill City Council

 9.15am   Opening Address
  The Hon Adam Marshall MP
Minister for Western NSW
 9.45am   Speaker
  The Hon Mark Coulton MP
Minister for Regional Health, Regional Communications and Local Government
Member for Parkes
 10am   Speaker   Greg Warren MP
Shadow Minister for Local Government, Veterans and Western Sydney
  Morning Tea
10.45am   Speaker
  Cr Linda Scott
Local Government NSW
 11.15am   Speaker  

Tim Hurst
Deputy Secretary Local Government Policy and Planning
Office of Local Government

    Social Panel

Chaired by Prof. David Lyle, University Department of Rural Health. 

Panel members include:

Trish Doyle MP
Shadow Minister for Women, Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence and Emergency Services

Umit Agis
Chief Executive
Far West Local Health District

Acting Superintendent Darren Brand
Acting Commander Barrier Police District
NSW Police

 1.30pm   Speaker  

Yasmin Catley MP
Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Minister for Rural and Regional Jobs, Building Reform and Property

1.45pm   Economic Panel

Chaired by Local Government NSW Chief Executive, Scott Phillips.

Panel Members include:

The Hon Daniel Mookhey MLC
Shadow Minister for Finance, Small Business and the Gig Economy

Greg Warren MP
Shadow Minister for Local Government, Veterans and Western Sydney

Clyde Thomson
Chair, Destination Network Country and Outback

 2.45pm    Speaker   The Hon Ben Franklin MLC
Parliamentary Secretary for Energy and the Arts
  Afternoon Tea
  The Hon Mick Veitch MLC
Shadow Minister for Industry and Trade, Rural Roads, Rural Affairs and Western NSW
 3.45pm   Speaker
  The Hon Tara Moriarty MP
Shadow Minister for Mental Health and Crown Lands
 4.15pm   Speaker
  The Hon Bronnie Taylor MLC
Minister for Mental Health, Regional Youth and Women
  End Day 1
  Conference Dinner

Broken Hill Civic Centre
Upstairs Function Room

Enjoy catching up with new and long term colleagues, with fine cuisine and a venue to match.

Dress code: Business/ Smart casual

Wednesday 21 April 2021

  Registration Desk Opens
  Delegates assemble for start of Day 2
  Start Day 2
  Fabian Dattner
CEO Dattner Group
 9.30am   Environmental Panel

Chaired by Greg Curran, veterinarian and epidemologist.

Panel Members include:

Paul Scully MP
Shadow Minister for Natural Resources

Kate Washington MP
Shadow Minister for Environment and Heritage and Rural Health

Mevan Jayatilleke
Managing Director


  Morning Tea
  The Hon Sarah Mitchell MLC
Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning
 11.30am   Cultural Panel

Chaired by Anne Andrews, City Growth Coordinator, Broken Hill City Council.

Panel Members include:

Jo Haylen MP
Shadow Minister for Active Transport, Seniors and Volunteers and Cost of Living

Ms Cathy Farry
Executive Director
West Darling Arts

  Speaker   The Hon Melinda Pavey MP
Minister for Water, Property and Housing
  Western Division Council Business Agenda Items / AGM

Afternoon Tea

Conference Close